Why I need a Handful Bra for Valentines

Happy Sunday! I hope y’all have had a nice weekend. Our weekend was pretty packed. It’s the last weekend of Mardi Gras in New Orleans so our city is busy celebrating, eating king cake, and catching beads. Friday night we went to parades and then enjoyed dinner at Waffle House. Then Saturday morning we did our long run for the week-8 miles. Since there were parades rolling Saturday morning we decided to run on campus instead of heading over to Audubon Park, our usual Saturday run spot.

Eight miles is the farthest I have run during my training for the half in two weeks. I only decided to run the race about 2 1/2 months ago. Then I was sick for three weeks, so my training for this race has been very different from the last one. Last week I ran 6 on Saturday. I felt good during my run, but I knew I needed to get more miles under my belt before race day. So, Adrian and I decided on 8 miles for this Saturday as a goal. I got up that morning and ate my peanut butter toast and GU chomps. While I was getting dressed, I put on my compression socks, and then realized I had put them on the wrong foot. After the 20 minutes it took me to get them on, I just went with it. Once my Garmin found my location, I was off on my run.

I was a little nervous about being able to run all 8. Mainly I was nervous because I had been at parades for three solid nights prior to this run. That means standing for several hours each night, jumping up and down, and eating pb&j for dinner each night.  I ran the first four at a pretty consistent pace. After the first four I stopped to eat a few more GU chomps, drink some water, and stretch. The second four went by pretty fast and I was really feeling excited about finishing my miles. My husband drove by me at mile 7 to cheer me on. He had already finished his run. It was super encouraging to see him! I finished with mile 8 being my fastest mile. I was really pumped and a little sore.

I got home and began to change out of my running clothes, and that is when it happened. Y’all in all my newbie running adventures I have never had this happen. I changed out of my sports bra and looked down to see blood. I had chafed on my chest. Not the way that men might experience chafe on their chest, but like literal pieces of my flesh are missing. Oh my stars! This is the worst pain I have ever felt. I showered in tears. Then put on baby powder and prayed Jesus would make the pain go away.

I can’t figure out why this happened this run. I wore a sports bra that is a little older but not like years and years old. But now I will never where it again. This leads me to my post title. I need a Handful bra for Valentines. I have never worn one before, but I have heard awesome things about the bras and the company. “hand-ful (noun) – A strong, confident, determined, active, compassionate, and/or adventurous woman. Sense of humor REQUIRED.” I LOVE that they are a mastectomy approved bra. I (like I am sure most of us) have had many women in my life who have been affected by breast cancer. I think it is so great to help ladies feel more like a woman through this type of bra! So all of that to say that I love Handful! I love their passion and compassion for women, helping them be rockstars! So now that I have sustained this injury I would like to make the change to this bra! Here’s to hoping cupid reads blogs! Cupid you can find it here: http://www.handful.com/shop/adjustable-bra/

Hope yall have a super sparkly Mardi Gras week!

Go and be a light,

leah

Do you wear compression socks? How long does it take you to put them on?

What’s you favorite sports bra? Have you ever tried a handful bra?

Have you ever had a this type of injury? If so, what did you use-Goldbond, Boudreaux, or baby powder?

2 comments

  1. SlowLaneRunner · February 11, 2013

    I have the same chaffing problem. I can’t seem to find a bra that doesn’t leave “bite marks” on my chest- It’s a real statement during bikini season! Body Glide works wonders! Just put a little on the problem areas before and no skin missing 10 miles later!

    Good luck with your half in two weeks! I am running the Disney Princess in two weeks- I’m way too excited for race weekend!

    • leahbfrazier · February 11, 2013

      Good Luck at the Disney Princess half! That race looks like so much fun! It is on my bucket list of races. Are you wearing a costume or tutu? I am still trying to decide what to wear for my race. Thank you for the advice about using Body Glide. I will definitely give it a try. I hope you have an awesome race at Disney!

Leave a Reply

