hello my name is Leah and I’m a runner…

This is what I practiced saying in my mind on my way to my first run group tonight. When I got there I knew this would not be the proper response. I was greeted with hugs and high-fives. 

I have thought about joining a running group for a few weeks. There are several different ones in the city. A friend of mine wanted to begin running and was looking for someone to go with her. This group is for beginners. It follows a scheduled pretty close to couch to 5k. Every Sunday the group meets for a run.

I was so excited to go with my friend. I was even more excited to get there and to see several ladies that I knew there. My friend was a little nervous about the whole thing. To be honest I was nervous. But once things got started we quickly realized this would be nothing to fret about. 

Our workout tonight consisted of 60 sec run/90 sec walk intervals for 20 minutes total. We had so much fun! After each run interval we would cheer and high five. The workout was over pretty quick and we received our calendars with our weekly run schedules. The group will meet for the next 10 weeks and then we will do a 5k. 

I am so glad that I went tonight. When we got in the car my friends they were so proud of themselves and what they had accomplished. We made plans to go and look for shoes later this week. Well, that is all for night. As you know one of my goals for the month is to get up when Adrian gets up. With the time change today I am sure that will feel extra early tomorrow. Have a good night! 

Have you ever joined a running group? 

What did you do this weekend?-We watched Wreck It Ralph twice and ate nachos! 

go and be a light, 

leah

2 comments

  1. Charlotte · March 20, 2013

    I am just taking the afternoon to read your whole entire blog. I want to do this after the little one is out safe and sound. I was in a running group in Valdosta and it was the funnest most motivating thing ever! Sometime soon I want you to tell me everything you know about groups in NOLA, k? ❤

    • leahbfrazier · March 21, 2013

      Thanks for reading the blog! Now I know it’s not just my husband who reads it :)! I would love to talk to you about running groups. The one I’m in right now is an all lady group. I would really love to get connected with a running group in the city through one of the running stores next fall. Let’s do it together!

Leave a Reply

