Trying it out Tuesday-Socks!

Welcome back to Trying it out Tuesday! When you begin your wide-eyed journey into runningdom you may not consider the fibers that will wrap around your feet into your new shiny running shoes. But really you should. When I first began running I ran in crazy colored/printed socks from Target. They cost about $2.50 a pair and I would pick up a new pair every couple of weeks once I had reached a new running goal. Sounds like a great plan, right? For the first few months this plan worked out okay. Soon these thin colorful wonders were threadbare and my toes were covered in blisters. This was not good.

So then I did what any newbie would do. I began to read other blogs, I tweeted for advice, and I began to enter contests. I am not sure who I won the first pair of Swiftwick Socks  but I know I was super excited to get them. The box came with a sticker, bracelet, and my socks. I think that is so fun that they sent me some extra goodies!

bracelet

This is my fun bracelet.

Well, it didn’t take long after that first pair to fall in love with these socks! You put them on your feet and they feel like butter. They are so soft. They are breathable. They keep you from getting blisters. You will love them. And your toes will love you for loving them. Here are a few of the ones I have tried.

These are the Sustain Zero socks. I like them for there low rise look/feel.

zero

These are the Sustain One socks. These are also low cut but with a little more coverage. Both of these pairs of socks are compression and feel wonderful on.

one.1

Here are my husband’s favorite Swiftwick socks. These are Vibe  Zero socks. He loves the low rise, color, and fit of these socks.

vibe

These are the Pursuit One socks. These were in his Christmas stocking this year! He loves loves loves these! I “lost” one of the socks while doing the laundry and we searched for it for weeks. We finally found it and I don’t think he has taken them off since for fear of losing it again.

pursuitone

We both love these:

12The Aspire Twelve Compression sock is a good investment. It is very reasonably priced. This sock is good for recovery and  training purposes. We have this pair in black, but I am eyeing the pink 🙂 (Hint Hint Adrian) We have used this sock for long runs and for racing. Adrian especially likes this sock for the half marathon distance. (I have not used them racing at this distance)

A few weeks ago we met a Swiftwick ambassador at the New Orleans 70.3 Ironman expo. We were so excited to talk Swickwick love with him. This is a great brand and their athletes show it!  Valor is another line of Swiftwick socks made for amputees. I love that Swiftwick is helping those with amputated limbs still reach their goals by providing these items. This just encourages my heart! Bonus: Swiftwick socks are made in the U.S.A.!

So now that you know about Swiftwick go and get a few pairs-I don’t think you will be disappointed! You can pick them up at Varsity Sports in NOLA or you can search for a store near you here. Trust me a few extra dollars spent on socks are totally worth it!

go and be a light,

Leah

What are your go-to running socks?

Have you ever had a really bad blister?

Do you run/live/bike in Swiftwick socks?

*I was not compensated for this review. I just know how bad blister can really ruin your running game. Hope this review will help you in your goal to find the perfect running sock.

4 comments

  1. SlowLaneRunner · May 21, 2013

    Swiftwick Socks are my favorite socks also- actually they are now the only socks in my running collection!!

    • leahbfrazier · May 21, 2013

      I’m so glad you love them too! Have you started training for MCM yet?

      • SlowLaneRunner · May 21, 2013

        Not yet, but I have created my plan and running calendar. My goal is to begin June 27!

      • leahbfrazier · May 21, 2013

        Good Luck! I hope it will go well!

Leave a Reply

