Brain Dump.

Y’all! FEAR NOT! I am still training for my marathon. Training is going okay. I wish I could tell you that it is going stellar and I am rocking every run. But I am trying a few things out to get me geared up again.

1. I am listening to podcasts during my run. Right now I listen mainly to Another Mother Runner podcast. They are so fun and clever. Plus you just feel more hardcore when you are running and listening to Lauren Fleshman or Kara Goucher. I know I am not a mom-so I kind of feel weird listening-but I am a women and they talk about things that all women go through, so that makes me feel okay about it.

2. I set my wake up alarm to music. I am not sure where I saw this little tidbit of advice but I love it! So now I am waking up to “We Built This City“! It makes me feel like I can conquer the world or clean an old theater up in less than 3 minutes! Thank you Muppet’s Soundtrack!

3. We signed up for a race! Adrian won a free race entry and so Monday afternoon we went by Varsity Running so I could get signed up. And bonus I got a free Varsity Sports race singlet for signing up in the shop! I am stoked! Now if I can just convince A to wear a costume for the race. It’s a “music themed race” so I want us to dress up as crazy choir members and run in choir robes and carry hymnals. So far he is not feeling it.

4. I finally (at week 12) put all of my training runs in my calendar. Wahoo! Hoping that having them right in front of me will get me mentally ready for the next days work.

I feel like there were other things I was going to tell you-but I guess that’s it for now!

go and be a light,

Leah

Do you listen to podcasts? If so which ones?

What helps you get up and at ’em in the morning for your run?

What are you doing today that makes your heart happy?

I’m going to Panera tonight to celebrate two friend’s birthdays! Two things I love, bread bowls and friendship. This will be so fun! 

One comment

  1. SlowLaneRunner · September 14, 2013

    I started listening to audiobooks! It keeps your mind distracted and less focused on running what can seem like a billion miles! However, they are NOT cheap so I might try a podcast next!

Leave a Reply

