Five things Friday

Here’s a little eclipse of what happened this week in the Life-o-Leah.

1. Char’s Birthday. Tuesday was Char’s birthday! So we celebrated with dinner at Juan’s flying burrito-Mid City. After all, what says I’m so glad you made 28 more than chips and salsa! We had so much fun and laughed all night! I’m so glad to celebrate this sweet sister!

IMG_4947

2. Summer Series with Beth. Lauren was there too, but she ran faster than us. This week kicked off the Summer Series for the New Orleans Track Club. Even though I was convinced for most of last week that the first run of the series was on National Running Day. You pay $5.00 to run each race or you can join the track club for around $30.00 and run all of the Summer Series for free. There are four races in the series. After each race there is food and some type of game for prizes. This summer they are doing running trivia for prizes-so I am trying to learn obscure facts about runners to win an NOTC hat or beach towel. I hope they ask something about Lauren Fleshman!

IMG_4951

3. Set some summer goals. Well guys, I’ve been needing some extra peep in my step these days! So I am doing some things to make sure I am going in the right direction. (Praying, reading the Bible, meeting with accountability partners) But I also know that having a new goal or something to plan for can help me as well! This week I began to write out mine and Adrian’s weekly plan on a giant poster board on the back of our door at home. This plan included mileage, foam rolling, nightly plans, and goals to accomplish this week. I am hoping doing this will help me to eat the elephant one bite at a time.

While Beth and I were running the other night I told her that this summer I want to beat my PR in the 2-miler. Beth said this sounded like a good idea to her. Since I am training for a little thing called the Chicago marathon, I think having a shorter distance time goal will be something fun to work on. We also discussed themes and ideas for Ironman in November. Beth’s husband, Josh, and our friend Jessica will be running the race. We are wanting to have a clever theme and signage for the big event!

4. Craft night at FBNO. This year was my 4th year to go to the “Make it-Take it” night at First Baptist New Orleans. Jenn best from Eden House spoke to the group about Praising the Lord in times of trials/suffering. This was a timely word for me. Jenn and I have been friends for many years and I’m so grateful to have her back in NOLA with me. I was glad that she would come and share her testimony!

IMG_4952

IMG_9032

For the craft this year we made crosses out of burlap. You could decorate your cross using paint, fabric, or buttons. I have a similar cross at my home and so I donated mine to the nursing home ministry. On my cross I wrote the word HOPE and then on the back of the cross I wrote the Scripture reference Romans 5:1-5. My sweet friend, Julie and I with our crosses at the end of the night.

Romans 5:1-5 ESV
5 Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. 2 Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we  rejoice in hope of the glory of God. 3 Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, 4 and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, 5 and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

A hope that does not put us to shame. A hope that does not disappoint. A hope that is poured out in the heart of a believer from the Holy Spirit. I am resting in this hope and clinging to it with every fiber of my being. This hope is real.

IMG_2744

My cross at my house. The fabric matches my curtains.

5. It’s going to rain all weekend. No really. Today from my office window it looked like I was in a drive-through car wash. While the weather may have thrown some kinks in our plans I am hoping that it will lead to a restful weekend.

Go and be a light,

Leah

What are your plans for the weekend?

Does your track club host any summer races or challenges?

What helps you to reach your goals?

Leave a Reply

